Last Updated: January 2017.

Hey, glad you could join me here!
Believe it or not, this Blog is 10 years old now… Time flies ūüôā

I am a 37 year-old father and husband who climbed out from under more than $40,000 in student loan debt in less than three years. I frown upon consumer debt and currently have no personal debt* other than my mortgage Рwhich I keep at ~50% of my home value, but constantly argue with myself about just paying it off.
*Paid off mortgage March 16, 2012.

I utilize Credit Cards and I believe that they can be excellent tools for managing cash flow and earning excellent rewards. However, it is important to diligently pay the full balance each month.

I do speak from experience, having used the principles of personal finance and investing discussed on this site to transform my net worth from -$40,000 to +$1,350,000 over the past 11 years.

I am currently on track to replace my earned income with income from a portfolio of index funds and common shares in high quality public companies with a record of increasing their dividends at a greater rate than inflation. The goal is to have a sustainable and growing stream of income from this portfolio to fund an *early* retirement!

According to the much referred to ‘4% Rule’ , my family’s annual expenses of ~$45,000 will require a portfolio of $1.125 Million to sustain. ¬†I’m shooting for a comfortable $1.25-1.5 Million portfolio with a paid off house in order to add even more flexibility to future spending.

This site will examine ideas surrounding earning, saving and investing money that have served me well and will take me to my ultimate goal.¬† I’d love for you to join me!

I’m always interested in your ideas, so feel free to leave comments or share your thoughts via the contact page.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *